Film on 'Riga 2014' receives a festival award

Film on 'Riga 2014' receives a festival award
Screenshot from LETA Video
‘LETA Video’ film about Riga as European Capital of Culture 2014 was deemed the best in the nomination ‘Product of Latvia tourism’ in the 6th International Tourism Film Festival Tourfilm Riga 2013.

The film, created by the director of ‘LETA Video’ Roman Shklennink, was
a commission of the State Agency for the Development of Tourism aimed at
popularizing Riga, which is to become European Capital of Culture next year. Other
authors of the film with the musical score by Kaspars Lācis are producers Victor
Devyatov and Zaiga Dūmiņa, and cinematographers Kaspars Nordens and Gatis

International jury presided in the festival Tourfilm Riga 2013 assessing idea,
creativity, the volume of information of the films presented for competition, and
determined winners in five categories: cultural tourism, ecotourism, adventure
tourism, commercial tourism and the ‘product of Latvia tourism.’

The first prize winners in each of the categories were selected, and two incentive
premiums awarded, the chair of the project Anitra Gērica informed the agency LETA.

In the nomination ‘Product of Latvia tourism,’ the incentive premiums went to two
Environment Films Studio (“Vides filmu studija”) works – ‘Cukurvate’ and ‘Share
Riga’ produced by Uldis Cakulis.

The Grand Prix of the festival was taken to United Arab Emirates for the
film ‘Definitely Dubai’ and the Jury Prize – to France for ‘Cordoba Loves You.’

Norwegian film ‘The Scream’ was selected as the best in the festival category
Commercial tourism and ‘Definitely Dubai’ – in the category of Cultural tourism;
authors of ‘Rota Vincentina – Two Steps to Freedom’ from Portugal took home the
TR 2013 award for the best work in the Adventure tourism fold, and ‘From Stone to
Stone,’ created in Finland, was estimated to lead in the Eco tourism product category.

83 tourism short films from 34 countries participated in the 6th International Tourism
Film Festival Tourfilm Riga 2013.


Comments open for registered users only!