Nominations for and the First Winners at the European Film Awards

Nominations for and the First Winners at the European Film Awards
At the Seville European Film Festival on the 8th of November, the European Film Academy (EFA) and EFA Productions announced the nominations for the 27th European Film Awards.

The more than 3,000 EFA Members will now vote for the winners who will be presented during the awards ceremony on the 13th of December in Riga, European Capital of Culture 2014.

In the category European Film 2014, the nominees are: “Force Majeure” (Sweden/Denmark/France/Norway), “Ida” (Poland/Denmark), “Leviathan” (Russia), “Nymphomaniac. Volume I and II” (Denmark/Germany/France/Belgium) and “Winter Sleep” (Turkey/France/Germany). The contenders for the title of European Comedy 2014 are: “Carmina & Amen” (Spain), “Le Week-end” (UK) and “The Mafia only Kills in the Summer” (Italy). The EFA has also announced nominees for European Director, Actress, Actor, and Screenwriter.

The nominees for European Director 2014: Nuri Bilge Ceylan  (Turkey) for the film “Winter Sleep”, Steven Knight (UK) for the film “Locke”, Ruben Östlund for the film “Force Majeure”, Paweł Pawlikowski (Poland) for the film “Ida”, Paolo Virzì (Italy) for the film “Human Capital”, and Andrey Zvyagintsev for the film “Leviathan”.

The nominees for European Actress 2014: Marian Alvarez (“Wounded”), Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (“Human Capital”), Marion Cotillard (“Two Days, One Night”), Charlotte Gainsbourg (“Nymphomaniac”), Agata Kulesza and Agata Trzebuchowska (“Ida”).

The nominees for European Actor 2014: Brendan Gleeson (“Calvary”), Tom Hardy (“Locke”), Alexey Serebryakov (“Leviathan”), Stellan Skarsgård (“Nymphomaniac”) and Timothy Spall (“Mr. Turner”).

The nominees for European Screenwriter 2014: Ebru Ceylan and Nuri Bilge Ceylan Ebru Džiliana (“Winter Sleep”), Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (“Two Days, One Night”), Steven Knight (“Locke”), Oleg Negin and Andrey Zvyagintsev (“Leviathan”), Paweł Pawlikowski and Rebecca Lenkiewicz (“Ida”).

As reported, the EFA Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to writer and director Agnès Varda this year.

A special seven-member jury convened in Berlin and, based on the EFA Selection list, decided on the following awards recipients: Łukasz Żal and Ryszard Lenczewski will receive the European Cinematographer award for the film “Ida”, Justine Wright will be honoured as European Editor for “Locke”, the European Production Designer award will go to Claus-Rudolf Amler for “The Dark Valley”. Natascha Curtius-Noss will be honoured as the European Costume Designer for “The Dark Valley”, Mica Levi has been named the European Composer for the soundtrack to “Under the Skin”, and Joakim Sundström as the European Sound Designer for his work on the film “Starred up”.

As reported, the European Film Awards ceremony will be held in Riga on the 13th of December, which has encouraged Latvian filmmakers to present Latvian cinema internationally in a most impressive way. During the month of December, the Riga International Film Festival will also include the Latvian National Film Festival “Lielais Kristaps 2014”, screenings of the films nominated for the European Film Awards and a retrospective of European films, a programme of Northern European children’s films, a special film programme of the festival “2Annas” and the festival’s events targeted at scriptwriters, as well as an extensive programme of lectures and creative workshops by the world’s leading film industry professionals, organised by the National Film Centre of Latvia. At the end of the year, foreign film professionals will be visiting Riga to meet with Latvian filmmakers and discuss new international joint projects.

On the 12th of December, the “Splendid Palace” cinema (Elizabetes iela 61) will host an event featuring the recipient of the European Film Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award as a guest of honour. Ahead of the European Film Awards Ceremony, “Splendid Palace” has launched a new campaign, “European Film Ticket”, calling on every filmgoer to see three European films by the 30th November this year and win invitations to the special event at the cinema on the 12th of December. Further information about the rules of the campaign can be found at the website of “Splendid Palace”:

The European Capital of Culture Programme of Riga is prepared and run by the “Riga 2014” foundation in collaboration with state, municipal and non-governmental cultural organisations and creative associations. The Programme is financed by the Riga City Council, Ministry of Culture and the European Commission.


Comments open for registered users only!