Aarhus to be European Capital of Culture in Denmark in 2017

Aarhus to be European Capital of Culture in Denmark in 2017
28-08-2012 A+ A-
The independent selection panel assessing the cities applying to future European Capitals of Culture has recommended Aarhus for the title in 2017. Aarhus beat off the challenge of Sønderborg to represent Denmark. Cyprus is the other Member State in which a city will host the title in five years’ time. The two winning cities will be formally nominated by the EU’s Council of Ministers in May 2013.

Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner responsible for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, stated: “I congratulate Aarhus on its successful bid. I am sure the city and its citizens will participate with enthusiasm in the preparations for the year. The European Capital of Culture has an important role to play in promoting the diversity of Europe’s cultures. The initiative is also a catalyst for the transformation of cities, bringing substantial economic and social benefits to its citizens.”

In Cyprus, Nicosia and Paphos are still in competition. The selection panel is expected to make its recommendation in mid-September.

Following Guimarães (Portugal) and Maribor (Slovenia) this year, Marseille (France) and Košice (Slovakia) will be European Capitals of Culture in 2013; Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia) in 2014, Mons (Belgium) and Plzen (Czech Republic) in 2015 and Wroclaw (Poland) and Donastia-San Sebastián (Spain) in 2016.



Comments open for registered users only!