European Film Awards Ceremony Caps Cinema Month in Riga

European Film Awards Ceremony Caps Cinema Month in Riga
Mārtiņs Otto, Rīga 2014
08-12-2014 Latviski A+ A-
This weekend, the 13th of December, European filmmakers, European Film Academy Members, guests, nominees and winners will gather to celebrate European cinema at its finest at the 27th European Film Awards in Riga.

The venue for this year’s edition of the awards ceremony, traditionally opened by the President of the European Film Academy Wim Wenders and European Film Academy Chairwoman Agnieszka Holland, is the Latvian National Opera.

Announcing and presenting the winners of the European Film Awards in 21 categories will be actresses Ada Condeescu (Romania), Sylvia Hoeks (the Netherlands), Carla Juri (Switzerland), Rēzija Kalniņa (Latvia), Ariane Labed (France) and Tanja Ribič (Slovenia), their male colleagues Barry Atsma (the Netherlands), Andrzej Chyra (Poland), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Denmark), Branko Đurić (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Tobias Moretti (Austria) and Luca Zingaretti (Italy), Gustavs Terzens and Marta Selecka, as well as the legendary actress/director Liv Ullmann (Norway).

The ceremony will also include patrons for the nominated films, among them actor Johannes Kuhnke (Sweden), actress Melisa Sözen (Turkey) and cinematographers Mikhail Krichman (Russia) and Łukasz Żal (Poland) as well as members of the special awards jury Halfdan E (composer, Denmark), Luís Galvão Teles (director/producer, Portugal), Michael O’Connor (costume designer, UK), Allan Starski (production designer, Poland), Asaf Sudry (cinematographer, Israel) and Peter Warnier (sound designer, the Netherlands).

Steve McQueen will be honoured with the European Achievement in World Cinema award, Agnès Varda will receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Ed Guiney will get the European Co-Production Award 2014 – Prix EURIMAGES. Among the guests of the ceremony will also be the cultural ministers Josef Ostermayer (Austria), Urve Tiidus (Estonia), Dace Melbārde (Latvia), Šarūnas Birutis (Lithuania), Małgorzata Omilanowska (Poland) and Memli Krasniqi (Kosovo).

The 1,000 guests at the opera, another 500 at cinema “Splendid Palace” where the show will be simultaneously transmitted, and all those at home watching live from 7 p.m. CET on LTV in Latvia, RTP2 in Portugal and SVT Flow in Sweden, or online at will be welcomed by German TV host, author and director Thomas Hermanns. The founder of the famous German “Quatsch Comedy Club” also partnered with Maria von Heland for the script.

Bringing a taste of Latvia to the ceremony will be the cello trio “Melo-M”, the most popular instrumental group in the Baltics, known for cello versions of a variety of well-known music, from classical to ethno, pop and rock. The European Film Awards are produced by European Film Academy Director Marion Döring and Executive Producer Jürgen Biesinger.

As reported, the nominees in the category European Film 2014 are: “Force Majeure” (Sweden/Denmark/France/Norway), “Ida” (Poland/Denmark), “Leviathan” (Russia), “Nymphomaniac. Volume I and II” (Denmark/Germany/France/Belgium) and “Winter Sleep” (Turkey/France/Germany). The contenders for the title of European Comedy 2014 are: “Carmina & Amen” (Spain), “Le Week-end” (UK) and “The Mafia only Kills in the Summer” (Italy). The EFA has also announced nominees for European Director, Actress, Actor, and Screenwriter. The awards will be presented in 21 categories in total. More information about the nominees for the European Film Awards is available here.

The European Film Awards Ceremony will be broadcast live at the “Splendid Palace” cinema and Latvian State Television (LTV) from 8 p.m. The broadcast on LTV will start already at 7 p.m., offering reports live from the red carpet, interviews and commentaries. The ceremony will also be aired live on “Lattelecom” channel “Kultūra 360tv”. The portal will start liveblogging and photographic coverage at 6 p.m., featuring exclusive extra information on the European Film Awards Ceremony, reports from the backstage, and other events before and after the official live broadcast on TV.

The European Film Academy was established in 1989, originally under the name of European Cinema Society, bringing together the most prominent and acclaimed European filmmakers. Wim Wenders is the current President of the European Film Academy.

More than 2,900 members of the European Film Academy, including from Latvia, vote on the nominees in all categories. At the moment, nine film professionals represent Latvia at the European Film Academy: film critics Daira Āboliņa and Dita Rietuma, producer Uldis Cekulis, directors Andrejs Ēķis, Vilnis Kalnaellis, Ināra Kolmane, Ivars Seleckis, camera operator Gints Bērziņš and animator Jurģis Krāsons.

The European Film Awards Ceremony is part of the “Riga 2014” Programme.


Comments open for registered users only!