„Organ Music Under the Aegis of BACH” Concert in the Riga Dom 27.06.2014


The project “Organ Music Under the Aegis of BACH” presents the third concert programme: Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Gottfried Müthel; Robert Schumann - Two Fugues on BACH op. 60, Heitor Villa-Lobos - Aria from Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4, Tālivaldis Ķeniņš - Scherzo-Fantasia. Performing in the concert: organists Līga Ivāne, Aigars Reinis and Aivars Kalējs, and tenor Ingus Pētersons.

Thematic division: Thirst for the Ocean

Begins : 27.06.2014 16:00


  • Riga Dome

Form of event:

  • Concert
  • Festival

Category of event:

  • Music
  • History

Audience of event:

  • Youth
  • Adults

Project description:

J. S. Bach and music, which has enriched the world and Latvia’s musical landscape, inspired by his personality and artistic genius, is a boundless ocean. For the first time in Latvia’s concert history, a unified concert cycle is created to bring into one program events planned in Riga Dome cathedral, Liepāja Trinity Church and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Dubulti to host the premieres of compositions dedicated to each of these places of worship, which will be crowned off by the first performance of the cycle ‘Latvian Organ Trilogy’ in the Dome cathedral. The project will bring together more than 20 organists, as well as quire, soloists, individual musicians and Latvian National Symphony orchestra.

Web address: http://riga2014.org/ergelesBACH



Comments open for registered users only!