Euroradio Concert Series: Riga – European Capital of Culture 2014


The Euroradio Concert Series: Riga – European Capital of Culture 2014 aim at focusing the attention of the 78 Euroradio states on the rich musical life of Latvia, offering a sense of presence in a number of unique concerts.

Recordings of the 11th Kremerata Baltica Festival concerts in Sigulda concert hall “Baltais flīģelis” on the 4th and 5th of July will be broadcast on the 27th of October at 9:05 p.m. Participants: Baiba Skride (violin), Lauma Skride (piano), chamber orchestra “Kremerata Baltica”, conductor – Jacques Cohen. Programme: overture to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Abduction from the Seraglio” and Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K. 491, Franz Schubert’s Rondo in A major for Violin and Strings, D. 438, and Modest Mussorgsky and Jacques Cohen’s “Pictures at an Exhibition”.

The 28th of October at 9:05 p.m., recording of the “Tenso Days” closing concert “Paradisus vocis” in the Riga Dom. Programme: contemporary sacred music – Bernat Vivancos, Beat Furrer, Zad Moultaka, François-Bernard Mâche, Andrejs Selickis, Pēteris Vasks and Ēriks Ešenvalds. Participants: Latvian Radio Choir, “Musicatreize” (France), Helsingin kamerikuoro (Finland), chamber orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga”. Conductor – Sigvards Kļava.

The 29th of October at 7 p.m., live broadcast from the Riga Dom. Programme: Ēriks Ešenvalds, Sir John Tavener, Giya Kancheli, Rihards Dubra. Participants – soloists, State Choir “Latvija”, conductor Māris Sirmais.

On the 30th of October at 9:05 p.m., a recording of the Autumn Chamber Music Festival’s closing concert at the Great Guild Hall. Participants: Sola Gabeta (cello), chamber orchestra “Sinfonietta Rīga”, conductor Normunds Šnē. Programme: Erkki-Sven Tüür’s “Lighthouse”, Pēteris Vasks’ cello concerto “Presence” (Latvian premiere), Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No. 3 in C major, Op. 52.

On the 31st of October at 7 p.m., a live broadcast of the concert “Reinis Zariņš. Clouds. Tchaikovsky” from the Great Guild Hall. Participants: Reinis Zariņš (piano), Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, conductor Andris Poga. Programme: Ēriks Ešenvalds’ “Clouds”, Alexander Scriabin’s Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, Op. 20, Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36.

On the 31st of October at 11:30 p.m., a recording of a concert by the Latvian Radio Big Band at the Latvian Radio Studio. Soloists: Kristīne Prauliņa, Raimonds Pauls. Conductor: Kārlis Vanags.

On the 1st of November at 7 p.m., a recording of Giuseppe Verdi’s “Rigoletto” at the Latvian National Opera. Cast: Samsons Izjumovs, Olga Pudova, Rame Lahaj, Krišjānis Norvelis, Kristīne Zadovska, Rihards Mačanovskis and others. Latvian National Opera Choir and Orchestra, conductor – Mārtiņš Ozoliņš.

On the 2nd of November at 5 p.m., a live broadcast of a traditional music concert from the Latvian Radio Studio. Participants: Laima Jansone (kokles), Raimonds Tigulds (hang), Artis Orubs (percussion), Andris Grunte (double bass).

Thematic division: Without thematic division

Begins : 26.10.2014 22:00

Ends: 01.11.2014 22:00


  • Latvian National Opera
  • The Big Guildhall
  • Riga Dome
  • Church of St. John
  • The Spīķeri concert hall
  • Studio 1 of the National radio station

Form of event:

  • Concert
  • TV/Radio
  • Performance art

Category of event:

  • Music

Audience of event:

  • Youth
  • Adults

Project description:

The Euroradio project will take a week to transmit eight concerts of the leading professional ensembles of Latvia, presenting a panoramic and generically diverse landscape of the musical life in Latvia. The participants of the project are soloists, chamber orchestras ‘Kremerata Baltica’ and ‘Sinfonietta Riga,’ Latvian Radio Choir, the Academic Choir ‘Latvia,’ the Big band of Radio Latvia, the Nathional Symphony Orchestra and National Opera of Latvia with a premier of original opera created by a Latvian composer.

Web address:



Comments open for registered users only!